2012 Sustainability Planning Effort

In 2012, President Jim Yong Kim commissioned a sustainability planning process to help chart Dartmouth's path to sustainability leadership. Under the leadership of co-chairs Andy Friedland and Linda Snyder, that group embarked on a planning effort that engaged the Dartmouth community, soliciting ideas from every corner of campus. The group held workshops and planning sessions that included hundreds of faculty, students and staff. The 2012 Sustainability Steering Committee commissioned working groups focused on Energy, Materials and Learning and Culture.  These ideas have been folded into the 2016 Sustainability Planning Process. 

The 2012 Sustainability Steering Committee included: 

Outputs of the 2012 Sustainability planning effort can be found here: 


Material Flows

Learning and Culture